Home » TATA IPL 2022- Mumbai Indians beats Delhi Capitals by 5-wicket

TATA IPL 2022- Mumbai Indians beats Delhi Capitals by 5-wicket

by IP Staff


The Mumbai Indians (MI) signed off their TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 campaign with a 5-wicket victory after beating the Delhi Capitals (DC) on Saturday at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Jasprit Burmah’s impressive 3-wicket haul reduced DC to 159-7 in the first innings before Ishan Kishan’s measured 48 and Tim David’s impactful cameo got MI over the line.  

Chasing 160 for victory, MI were 15/0 in the first two overs after Ishan Kishan kicked off his innings with two fours and a six. Khaleel Ahmed however mounted pressure from one end after conceding only 2 runs in his first two overs.

The pressure added by DC was finally rewarded after Nortje dismissed Rohit Sharma as MI were 27/1 at the end of the powerplay. Dewald Brevis, who joined Kishan at the crease, played a release shot for six following a quiet couple of overs.

Kuldeep Yadav’s second over produced 18 runs after Kishan and Brevis hammered a six each. The fifty partnership was up for the second wicket but MI lost Kishan’s wicket after the left-handed batter was caught at long-on.

Tilak Varma then joined Brevis, who was given a reprieve in the 12th over and MI required 68 off 36 deliveries.

MI lost their third wicket after Brevis dragged Shardul Thakur’s delivery onto the stumps. Tim David clubbed his first six of the innings which brought the equation down to 59 off 30 for MI.

Tilak Varma and Tim David snatched the momentum back for MI with a 17-run over as MI required 29 off the final three overs.

Tim David dispatched consecutive sixes before the explosive MI batter was caught inside the circle. MI lost Tilak Varma’s wicket in the penultimate over but Ramandeep Singh took MI over the line as they successfully chased down the target with 5 balls to spare.

Earlier, DC, who were put in to bat first, made one change – Prithvi Shaw replaced Lalit Yadav in the eleven while MI included Dewald Brevis and Hrithik Shokeen in their lineup were named in the eleven.

David Warner and Prithvi Shaw got DC off to a steady start. Shaw crunched the first six but it didn’t take too long for MI pacers to make an impact after DC lost the wickets of David Warner and Mitchell Marsh in quick succession as Dan Sams and Jasprit Bumrah claimed a wicket each.

Bumrah then claimed the big wicket of Shaw, who was caught behind in the final over of the powerplay as DC were placed at 37/3 at the end of 6 overs. DC lost their fourth wicket inside the first ten overs after Sarfaraz Khan was caught behind off Mayank Markande’s bowling.

DC were 55-4 at the halfway stage before skipper Rishabh Pant and Rovman Powell led the side’s recovery. 20 runs were conceded in the 12th over after Powell launched two sixes followed by a four.

A crucial fifty partnership was up for the 5th wicket and DC were 106/4 with five overs to go.

Ramandeep Singh’s eventful over produced 19 runs but the pacer managed to scalp Pant’s wicket after the DC skipper was caught behind.

Burmah continued his excellent bowling performance and castled Powell with a yorker to put an end to an explosive innings. Ramandeep scalped his second wicket in the final over but a six from Axar Patel powered DC to 159/7 in the first innings.

Brief Scores: Mumbai Indians 160/5 (Ishan Kishan 48, Dewald Brevis 37; Shardul Thakur 2-32) beat Delhi Capitals 159/7 (Rovman Powell 43, Rishabh Pant 39; Jasprit Bumrah 3-25) by 5 wickets.


You may also like

Update Required Flash plugin