Home » India strongly calls for immediate end to Ukraine war at UNSC

India strongly calls for immediate end to Ukraine war at UNSC

by IP Staff
India strongly calls for immediate end to Ukraine war at UNSC

India expressed concern over the ongoing conflict between Russia and Ukraine and called for end to war. Speaking at the UN Security Council External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar said that the need of the hour is to end the conflict and return to dialogue.

Jaishankar said that the nuclear issue is a particular anxiety. “The trajectory of the Ukraine conflict is a matter of profound concern for the entire international community. The future outlook appears even more disturbing. The nuclear issue is a particular anxiety,” he said.

Addressing the 15-nation UN Security Council briefing on Ukraine Fight against impunity’ that was chaired by French Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs Catherine Colonna, the minister said the impact of the conflict is being felt even in distant regions in a globalised world.

“We have all experienced its consequences in terms of SURGING costs and actual shortages of food grains, fertilizers and fuel.” On this core too, there are good grounds to be worried about what awaits us,” he said.

Jaishankar met Prime Minister of Ukraine Denys Shmyhal at the UN headquarters on Wednesday,, and tweeted, “Thank[ed] him for sharing his perspectives and assessment of the ongoing conflict. Discussed their consequences, including for food security, energy security and safety of nuclear facilities. Apprised him of India’s principled position that emphasizes cessation of all hostilities and return to dialogue and diplomacy. Assured him that India would continue to provide humanitarian assistance.”

The UNSC, headquartered at NewYork, was established by the UN Charter in 1945 with primary responsibility is to work to maintain international peace and security. The council has 15 members. Out of it, five are permanent members as United States, Russian, France, China and the United Kingdom and ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms.

You may also like

Leave a Comment