Home » Independence Day: 1,082 police personnel given medals for gallantry

Independence Day: 1,082 police personnel given medals for gallantry

by Team Indopost
0 comment
1,082 police personnel given medals for gallantry

NEW DELHI: On the occasion of Independence, a total of 1,082 police personnel from CAPFs and state forces have been awarded various categories of service medals, including for gallant action.

President’s Medal for Gallantry and President’s Medal for Distinguished Services as well as Gallantry Medal and Meritorious Services Medals are awarded to the personnel of Fire Services, Civil Defence & Home Guards on Republic Day and Independence Day each year.

On the occasion of Independence Day, 2022, 55 personnel have been awarded Fire Service Medals.

Out of these, Fire Service Medal for Gallantry is awarded to 11 personnel for their respective acts of valour and gallantry.


President’s Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service is awarded to 6 personnel and Fire Service Medal for Meritorious Service is awarded to 38 personnel for their respective distinguished and meritorious records of services.

In addition, 46 personnel are also awarded Home Guard & Civil Defence Medals on the occasion of the Independence Day, 2022. Of these, Home Guards and Civil Defence Medal for Gallantry is awarded to 2 personnel for their act of valour and gallantry.

President’s Home Guards and Civil Defence Medal for Distinguished Service and Home Guards and Civil Defence Medal for Meritorious Service are awarded to 7 personnel and 37 personnel respectively.

The maximum gallantry medals at 109 have been received by the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) followed by 108 to the J&K Police, 19 to the Border Security Force (BSF) and six each to the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) and Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB).

Among the state police forces, 42 gallantry medals have been given to Maharashtra, 15 to Chhattisgarh among others forces and Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs).

Meanwhile, the following Central Industrial Security force (CISF) Officers and men have been awarded with the prestigious President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service and Police Medal for Meritorious Service on the occasion of 76th Independence Day-2022, in appreciation of their outstanding services in various fields.

President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service

1.            Hem Raj Gupta, Inspector General, ES HQrs, Ranchi

2.            Lakhinana Kesava Rao, Sub-Inspector/Exe, MPA Mumbai

Police Medal for Meritorious Service

1.            Raghubir Narain, Sr. Commandant, EZ HQrs Patna

2.            Shailendra Pratap Singh, Sr. Commandant, P & HCS Chandigarh

3.            Purna Chandra Dalai, Commandant, CGBS New Delhi

4.            Md Naiyar Azam Khan, Commandant, WCL Chindwara/ GP.HQ.Patna

5.            Satish Kumar Bajpai, Commandant, BSP Bhilai

6.            Surinder Mohan, Asstt. Commandant, DMRC Delhi

7.            Subhash Chand, Asstt, Commandant, Electronic Niketan, Delhi

8.            Chhote Lal Meena, Asstt, Commandant, ONGC Ahmedabad

9.            Prasun Kumar Mitra, Asstt. Commandant, IG Mint Kolkata

10.         Rajender Singh Bisht, Asstt. Commandant, FHQrs New Delhi

11.         Mangal Singh Bhandari, Asstt. Commandant, GP HQr Prayagraj

12.         Jaibir Singh, Inspector/Exe, CGBS New Delhi

13.         Nagadesi Devasundaram, Sub-Inspector/Exe, ASG Bangalore

14.         M Karunanidhi, Asstt. Sub-Inspector/Exe, NLC Neyveli

15.         Raghu Raj Singh, Asstt. Sub-Inspector/Exe, DPT Kandla

16.         A Sivasubramanian, Asstt. Sub-Inspector/Exe, KKNPP Kudankulam

17.         Lalit Kumar Sharma, Asstt. Sub-Inspector/Exe, ASG Delhi

18.         Attar Din, Asstt. Sub-Inspector/Exe, CGBS New Delhi

19.         Jugal Kishor Sharma, Asstt. Sub-Inspector/Exe, GAIL Vijaypur

20.         M Vasu, Asstt. Sub-Inspector/Exe, ASG Trichy

21.         Rambir Singh, Asstt. Sub-Inspector/Exe, BNP Dewas

22.         H N Goudar, Asstt. Sub-Inspector/Exe, ASG Bangalore

You may also like

Leave a Comment